Man Vs. Nature

watercolor

Yesterday, I showed you a watercolor painting experiment and promised to explain what was on the painting. To be honest, I had nothing in mind when I started painting. These paintings just start with a couple of colors, like my poems start with random words. This time, I started with the yellow spot on the left. It looked like a pointed cap to me and the green figure on the left sort of grew from there. On the right, I started with blue paint, and it slowly morphed into what looks like an ostrich to me. I felt that something was missing, so I drew the blue-yellow dot on the top last.

Here is my two cents interpretation. Maybe my subconscious tried to paint the current world situation: lots of meanness in combination with ostrichism. The green figure represents nature or innocence that is overtaken by greed (red color) . The right figure is about people ignoring the issues at stake. Which issues, you ask? Well, any. I am sure you can think of some… accelerated climate change, inequality, etc. The small blue bird with the yellow dots on the top represents hope although it seems to be in a downward spiral. But hey, maybe if the ostrich gets its head out of the sand and spreads its wings in time, it will catch the bird and all will be well.  -THE END-

4 thoughts on “Man Vs. Nature

Your Contemplations

